Concerned Bloggers Association ~ Prostate Exams

I’m Dr. Inga and yes, I am a medical professional.

At some point most men will either be offered a prostate examination as part of general health screening, or it will be advised because of their age (usually 50+) or some problem relating to difficulty in passing urine. The examination takes only a minute or two and should be entirely painless. Here’s what to expect from a prostate examination.

Prostate Exam Procedure
I will need to insert my finger into your rectum in order to examine the prostate gland.

Step 1: You will be asked to stand, feet apart, facing the examination couch and bending forward so that your arms or elbows are on the couch. If you’re nervous about not being able to see what’s going on, you can ask me to describe each step to you before it happens.

Step 2: I will put on a surgical glove and cover my finger in lubricant.

Step 3: My finger will be inserted in a downwards angle as if pointing to the belly button. You may feel a little pressure, but there shouldn’t be any pain or discomfort. If it hurts, tell me immediately.

Step 4: A few seconds may elapse as I wait for the external sphincter muscle to relax. I will move my finger in a circular motion in order to identify the lobes and groove of the prostate gland. A normal sized prostate gland is around 2-4 cm long and triangular in shape. I will also expect the prostate to feel firm and rubbery.

Step 5: I will tell you when I’m going to remove my finger and then offer you some tissue or pre-moistened wipes to clean off the lubricant.

TaaDaaaa! That’s all there is to a prostate exam.
See that wasn’t so bad, was it?

This Public Service Announcement was brought to you by the Concerned Bloggers Association. If you would like to become involved, please contact Marleen Vaughan for more information. http://concernedbloggers.wordpress.com/

Source: About.com Men’s Health http://menshealth.about.com/od/prostatehealth/a/prostate_poll.htm

Posted by Paisley Mizin (yes I did just post that)

4 thoughts on “Concerned Bloggers Association ~ Prostate Exams

  1. Pingback: Paisley Mizin Makes Prostate Exams Sexy. « Concerned Bloggers Association

Leave a Reply

